The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

I'm a drummer and there's a really good guitarist and singer who subs with our group quite often and he has been seriously hassling me about doing several songs in Bb. I thought he was kidding but he has been making cracks about it every time for about six months now.

The guy is a hot player, very fast and doesn't sound like he has any problem with the key. But I am getting sick and tired of hearing him grouse all night. The other guys say he's kidding. I haven't asked him so far because I just couldn't believe he was keybound and didn't want to insult him.

I do make a point of not doing things in F# or C# or Eb etc but is Bb that bad really?

Guess I'll skip those songs tonight.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Sounds like he's kidding. Maybe not. Is there someone singing?
    Last edited by Stevebol; 03-30-2013 at 05:26 PM.

User Info Menu

Well if he's a hard core Country player they take a lot advantage open strings for their trick licks so certain keys could put a crimp in playing some of things from his bag of tricks. Tell him to "man-up" and play in flat keys, if he hits a few clunkers he can tell people "I'm into Jazz".

User Info Menu

Just pull a capo out of your back pocket and toss it to him. Whether he's joking or not, you'll shut him up and get the last laugh.

User Info Menu

Country player once told me there are five keys: E, A, D, G and sometimes C.

User Info Menu

It may have a lot to do with his vocal range. Singers, even trained singers with a pretty wide range, will always have a range they sound best in. Yeah you can toss him a capo but if you move him out of his vocal range, you'll need a different kind of capo for that. Vice grip on the nuts may do the trick.