The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Posts 51 to 75 of 92

User Info Menu

The following performance, IMO, is great on various levels -- including overall band tightness, Vinnie Colaiuta, comedic elements provided by both Belushi and Zappa:

Frank Zappa - John Belushi - Video dailymotion

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Vai says in interviews that that man was a musical genius, and I think he was a self taught guy, which is pretty incredible by listening to the instrumental stuff he wrote and performed. I think it is hard to tell when he is jacking around and when he is serious with the lyrics.....

User Info Menu

Hmmm...have you got a few hours?

He was definitely a musical genius. I think he will be remembered in future generations for his compositional skills. (No I don't think he's on a level with Arvo Part, but IDK John Adams or Philip Glass vs Zappa? I'd pick Zappa.) I personally like his more band-oriented work (Uncle Meat, The Grand Wazoo) than his pure orchestral stuff, but it's all top notch.

As a bandleader he is unparalleled in rock, if not jazz, though even there he would be a strong contender. The Brecker Brothers, Ruth Underwood, George Duke, Jean-Luc Ponty, Vinnie Colaiuta, etc. Not to mention non-jazz guitarists Steve Vai and Adrian Belew.

I appreciate the depth of his songwriting. My favorites are the mid-late 70's fusion albums like Apsotrophe, Overnight Sensation, Live at the Roxy, etc. Brilliant, brilliant lyrical and musical composition.

Now the humor and philosophy--this is what sticks in people's craws and makes it difficult to appreciate Zappa the artist. First of all he was a libertarian. Unlike Ayn Rand, he had a sense of humor. He was a political satirist who loved poking fun at those in power. He was a scatologist along the lines of Hieronymous Bosch and Rabelais.