User Info Menu

All the greats had a shadow they walked in before they became great:

Robert Johnson had Skip James
    B.B. King had Bukka White
    Muddy Waters had Son House

. . . so why not continue the tradition?

I'm a not-so-beginner beginner who has just finished taking a course in blues guitar and fell in love with it. BUT---I'm also currently living in New York City, which of course means----I ain't exactly "raking it in" So because my bills have skyrocketed recently, music lessons have unfortunately become a luxury.

But practicing alone late at night is pretty isolating and only so much can be learned from Youtube videos----so what's an enterprising musician to do?

I'm aiming to launch a monthly blues salon/ jam session where established & pro-level guitarists can interact with young pups like myself who are just starting out and could really use the tutelage. The idea is to create a comfortable atmosphere where the masters can bestow their knowledge to the rookies but can also swap war stories & maybe learn some new skills from their fellow experienced brethren. Maybe we focus on particular style one session or a particular musician during another---I'm open to suggestions. The whole point is to foster a community of blues lovers who want to better their craft--and who knows maybe gain a mentor or apprentice in the process.

The sessions would take place at Rivington Music Rehearsal Studio in the Lower East Side, I'd take care of the costs for the space rental (though if you'd like to chip in you're more than welcome to) and each session would run around 2 hours.

Looking forward to hearing from my fellow pluckers out there!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I am a very long way from NY but do let us know what transpires! I think that is a great idea!!

Will

User Info Menu