Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Anyone in the area care to jam? I'm a novice and know basic jazz chords but don't have mean chops or anything. I can sing and play, but I've found I'm much better doing one or the other, for the time being at least.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AlsoRan View Post
    Sorry about the brevity of the post. I was in an awful hurry.

But if you live close to Frisco, Texas, and you are interested in playing Jazz, this group of "true believers" can be a gateway to bigger things. They are a good bunch, although I have not been to their new location up in Frisco, Texas. It is apparently tied to a school of music, and you could probably really get your groove on with the contacts you make.

Some play at the regular weekly Jazz jams at Sandaga 813 and at the Scat Jazz Lounge. Others graduated from the University of North Texas, which is right up the street from them.

If I had the time, I would full indulge myself with them, but the travel distance is too far and my available time, much too short.

Good luck to you, Amigo.

Here is a map so that you can see where it is situated in the tangled web of highways that make up the DFW Metroplex Area:
    https://www.google.com/maps/place/Fr...bddcb021fc240a

User Info Menu

Hey thanks for the lead on the jam sessions in Frisco! I won't be able to make it tonight but I am definitely going to try to make it out there at the next one. I'm an hour away from Frisco but I am willing to make the drive, it seems as though it will be a great benefit to me.

I think I'll try to make it to Scat or Sandaga this weekend and check out the scene.

If you happen to find time enough to spare the travel, I'm in south DFW. PM if you'd care to jam or have some accompaniment to Scats or something.

User Info Menu

PM to come a little later, thanks..

User Info Menu