Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 82

User Info Menu

This thread discusses our All The Things You Are lesson:

All The Things You Are - Chord/Melody + Solo

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

ATTYA was the first song I studied when I was learning about key centers (Howard Roberts seminar) many years ago.

As a side comment, One of the best jazz guitar inprovisation versions of this tune is performed by Hank Garland on "Jazz Winds From A New Direction". We all referred to Hank Garland as "Sugarfoot" when he was making a lot of records out of Nashville. I think he surprised a lot of jazz people when he made his jazz record. His chops were unbelieveable!

Also, it is worthwhile to note the melody of ATTYA is made up mostly of 3rds & 7ths from the chords used in the song.

wiz

Stringbean Guest
    Thanks for the lesson, I dig.

I went on youtube and checked out some takes by the greats. Metheny 1980, and a more recent clip at Montreaux. Those guys left me way in the dust, after the melody all I heard was streams of notes. I can't follow the harmony yet. Hard work this listening to jazz. And this is a beginner tune!

There's a Gambale solo take on there also, sounds good.

Very good exposition of ATTYA - however, it makes sense to work this out for yourself for other tunes and also for ATTYA. For example, many people play a Calt (III7alt of Ab i.e. V7 of VI) without the G-7b5 in bar 24, and I think of this as the transition to the Ab section (in the key of Ab).

Similarly, the turnaround final bar of G-7b5 to Calt can be thought of as still in the key of Ab. This simplifies things as you no longer need to think of the one bar of F-, which normally would not count as a modulation in any case because it is so short. The most important thing is to use whatever helps you to make sense of the sequence, to memorise it, play it in any key and so improvise on it.