The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 268

User Info Menu

I want to start a conversation about modern jazz harmony and how we guitarists sometimes forget that there were tunes written after 1960!

In the late '70s, I studied at the university of miami and among other courses, I took a composition course from ronnie miller. His writing influenced me greatly and if you study his work, you will see that it draws from the same branch of the jazz tree which produced chord movements of artists such as Ritchie Bierach, John Abercrombie, Ralph Towner, Dave Liebman?, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, etc.

Here's a link to one of Ronnie's tunes which epitomize this type of harmonic movement: Sample Flash Music Player Embed Code

Most jazz guitarists have difficulty comping through this type of chord progression, much less understand its chordal movement or improvise over it.

We should collectively rectify this situation!
    Last edited by jzucker; 01-14-2014 at 12:42 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Seems like an interesting tune...a cursory glance shows me some phrygian, mixolydian, melodic minor ideas...I'd be lying if I told you I could go in cold on something like this.

I think guitar players tend to come to jazz later than many other instruments...

User Info Menu

I'd probably attack this with a lot of stacked fourth voicings. All the sus chords would seem to be looking for that anyway. I would definitely try to stay away from traditional triadic or seventh chord voicings that would imply functional movement.

User Info Menu

Smart approach, I'd think.

To go further, the nature of the guitar itself seems to affect this, and the way we learn guitar...We're so attached to "chords," and while a chart for a tune like this has chord symbols, it's not as concrete...it's more about what those symbols imply.

Quote Originally Posted by Boston Joe