Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 46 of 46
    Awesome John
    Ordered your book

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

yeah very nice chart.

Im completely self taught in theory, as far as my music teacher... the only real help Ive ever had was I asked my school music teacher the definition of a mode.
    But thanks I understand it now.

There are 7 modes of the Major scale, there is no such thing as the Major mode.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by cravingmusic
    There are 7 modes of the Major scale, there is no such thing as the Major mode.
    There is nothing named the Major mode, but there are modes that contain Major chord.

Ionian: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8---C D E F G A B C---1 3 5 7 9 11 13---C E G B D F A
    Lydian: 1 2 3 #4 5 6 7 8---C D E F# G A B C---1 3 5 7 9 #11 13---C E G B D F# A
    Harmonic Major 1st degree: 1 2 3 4 5 b6 7 8---C D E F G Ab B C---1 3 5 7 9 11 b13---C E G B D F Ab
    Harmonic Minor 6th degree: 1 #2 3 #4 5 6 7 8---C D# E F# G A B C---1 3 5 7 #9 #11 13---C E G B D# F# A

The 1st two are common and the other two less so.

Pentatonics also can represent major chords

Major Pentatonic: 1 2 3 5 6---C D E G A C---1 3 5 6 9---C E G A D

Other pentatonics can be generated by extracting them from modes or by starting with a chord and filling in the missing note(s).
    Here's a few using the latter method, structures containing C E G.

C D E G Ab
    C Db E G A
    C Db E G Ab
    C D# E G A
    C D# E G Ab
    C D E G B
    C Db E G B
    C D# E G B
    C E F# G A
    C E F# G B

User Info Menu

pls xplain playin the chord

User Info Menu