The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Posts 101 to 118 of 118

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by coyote-1
    That depends on how far along you are. If you’re just beginning your jazz journey, then knowing just one jazz blues chord pattern that you can move up and down the neck can get you through any blues that a session leader might call. Then you add another, and then another. In the space of a few months, you’ve learned not only these automatic patterns but also a number of inversions. Which you can then begin to integrate and exchange to taste, as the idiom becomes more and more familiar to you. It’s like memorizing some ii V7 I patterns. IMO they need to become automatic. So that in your jam sessions or performances, if you find yourself in a place you don’t want to be (it does happen), you can let your fingers just go where they know to go.
    I'm a jazz newbie, and I've found a great beginner friendly jam session. I call them the "survival skills", the memorized licks and routines that the fingers just fall into. These are my outs when I get lost.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by coyote-1
    Ahhh, now we are getting somewhere! You are acknowledging that it can be possible, in a given moment, to prioritize a component of music instead of devoting the Nth degree of attention to every detail all at once!
    Yes. I'm on the fix up my shoddy rhythms and time feel program.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by John A.