The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Hi,
    I've been an avid jazz guitar student through various online means for 5+ years. This is after 35+ years of learning and playing classic rock, blues and a little jazz. I took private lessons in high school and have been at it for a long time. I know my theory and can read but not at pace. I'm proficient with technique, playing, chord theory, scale theory and improv in the rock and blues idioms. I want to continue to improv my improv over jazz standards. You ask me to play lydian dominant in Ab and I can't give it back to you. I know a good many tunes at this point, but I feel that when I just turn myself loose with trying to solo, I have no good ideas that come naturally.

I'm at the point where I am a member of one particular pro player's online offering but it's just videos that come out and it is not structured learning. I've just gotten away from yet another pro player's online offering which was structured, but he was catering to a clientele that was more "beginner" than I am so it was losing it's value for me when only the last few minutes of a 45 minute lesson are most applicable for what I wanted out of it.