The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

“To transcribe” literally means transferring a recording into written form.

What many (self-taught) musicians used to do was learning whole solos by ear and by heart without pencil and paper. The great pianist and teacher Lennie Tristano made that a part of his teaching methods. In the following video Tristano (and Banacos BTW) student Dave Frank explains the benefits and how it is done.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Reminiscences of Lennie by Dave Frank and Harvey Diamond

User Info Menu

Thanks for posting, it's very useful

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fleaaaaaa
    Thanks for posting, it's very useful
    Always welcome.

Here is a short documentary of a Warne Marsh (one of Tristano’s most important students alongside Lee Konitz, Sheila Jordan, Peter Ind and Sal Mosca among others) masterclass in Norway showing some other of Tristano’s concepts. It is partly in Norwegian but you get the idea.

This is Sal Mosca

British bassist Peter Ind

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Bop Head
    “To transcribe” literally means transferring a recording into written form
    I don’t think everyone uses it this way even in jazz circles (it obviously means something completely different in classical.) Some seem to use it more to refer to learning music by ear on their instrument.

tbh it’s another example of a slightly misleading term being adopted by the jazz edu community probably because it sounds clever or official. The older generation of musicians probably never thought to think of a name for it, because they just did it all the time and it wasn’t like they could learn their favourite solos and tunes from books, and afaik did this by primarily by singing and then playing on their instruments rather than writing down so much.

The term I personally I like is ‘ear-learning’; the Tristano approach is definitely that.