The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 37 of 37

User Info Menu

I studied at Rutgers with Ted Dunbar in the ‘70’s and every day there was hours of ear training. Certainly top priority in his teaching approach. I don’t recall transcribing ever being mentioned. If he had said do it I would have without question- I was a complete disciple.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I bought a book in the early 1980s written by Ted Dunbar.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by kris
    Gary Barton,Jesse van Ruller-I don't think they're in favor of transcribing.
    I think I read about it somewhere.
    Jesse -I think he studied the one solo of Pat Martino - Just Friends - that's it.
    I think you are right about Jesse, kris. Dutchbopper wrote in his blog about Jesse Van Ruller's answer when he was asked about transcribing.

Here is the interview that was captured.

Dutchbopper's Jazz Guitar Blog: Interview with Jesse van Ruller

User Info Menu

Transcribing is probably the most sure fire way to rapidly acquire sufficient skills to make you sound like you know what you’re doing. Is this your goal? If this is your goal then by all means have at it. It’s undoubtedly the most common approach employed by the most people. It’s all good for anyone whose goals are aligned.

User Info Menu

Mark,

Cool to hear you also came up through Ted Dunbar.
    I spent a couple of years with him at Jazzmobile in the same decade.
    Ted forever will live inside of me from that time spent.

Much appreciation for your approach and the musical results that you share.

Question:

What does listening to music mean for you in regards to what you strive to do as an improvisor?

User Info Menu