The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 86 of 86

User Info Menu

When playing with backing tracks, I can be sure that no one will make a mistake.
    Various strange things happen in real jam sessions...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    Practicing and playing with distractions...now there's a topic I'm actually an expert on
    Playing through distractions is highly important. This is because live performance is almost nothing but distractions. I practice while reading stuff on the computer and whatnot. You have to divide your attention, to a degree - part of your mind handles playing the song, another part keeps an eye on that brooding guy in the back, another part appreciates the moves of the dancers in the front, anther part is waiting for the nod from the leader that says, "You're up. Don't blow it!" it's complicated.

User Info Menu

emanresu -

Has 'soft' been properly defined yet? What do you actually mean by that?

(I think you mean that certain chords with added or altered voicings are hard to distinguish. Would that be right?)

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by citizenk74
    Playing through distractions is highly important. This is because live performance is almost nothing but distractions. I practice while reading stuff on the computer and whatnot. You have to divide your attention, to a degree - part of your mind handles playing the song, another part keeps an eye on that brooding guy in the back, another part appreciates the moves of the dancers in the front, anther part is waiting for the nod from the leader that says, "You're up. Don't blow it!" it's complicated.
    +1
    This is it.
    Best
    Kris

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ragman1
    emanresu -

Has 'soft' been properly defined yet? What do you actually mean by that?