Posts 1 to 25 of 66

User Info Menu

Another from wzpgsr.

JGBE Virtual Jam (Round 63) - Afro Blue-mongo-forum-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ragman1
    Funny one, this...
    I should have known better than to call a 3/4 tune—nothing but self-flagellation ahead for me the next several days. Nice job rags.

User Info Menu

Oh, it was very late at night, trust me

I have a feeling flagellation in 3/4 would be quite difficult

User Info Menu

Ragman 1,
    You made a 12-bar minor blues out of this tune.
    Afro Blue is not a minor 'Afro Blues'.
    The original form of the piece has 16 bars and this is its strength.
    Characteristic for this composition are the divisions of the dotted quarter note plus the dotted quarter note into 3/4.
    I have been playing this piece for over 40 years and I would not have the courage to mix it up in form.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by kris
    Ragman 1,
    Characteristic for this composition are the divisions of the dotted quarter note plus the dotted quarter note into 3/4.
    I have been playing this piece for over 40 years and I would not have the courage to mix it up in form.

JGBE Virtual Jam (Round 63) - Afro Blue-afro-blue-2-jpg
    Last edited by ragman1; 03-29-2022 at 04:26 AM.

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Ragman 1,
    Fuck off.

What the hell is the matter with both of you? You should never be conducting yourselves this way on public threads. Both of you, use PM's for this kind of BS.

User Info Menu

Fuck off.

Ok.
    I always improvised on a 16-bar form.
    Thank you for writing back so kindly.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by John A.
    What the hell is the matter with both of you? You should never be conducting yourselves this way on public threads. Both of you, use PM's for this kind of BS.
    John,
    I was playing this song as the 16th form for a jam session and I got used to it.