The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Hi there,

I'm quite new to jazz guitar, and I've been learning it on my own so far. I have been improvising on solar, but I'd like to get some feedback for things I could work on:

Here is my solo on it:

Here is my comping on it: Stream Solar Comp by cuppajoeman | Listen online for free on SoundCloud

Thank you for looking at it!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by cuppajoe
    Hi there,

I'm quite new to jazz guitar, and I've been learning it on my own so far. I have been improvising on solar, but I'd like to get some feedback for things I could work on:

Here is my solo on it:

Here is my comping on it: Stream Solar Comp by cuppajoeman | Listen online for free on SoundCloud

User Info Menu

Hi, cuppajoe.

What I can say from listening to your playing is you need to work on your phrasing.

If you have mastered your chord tones/non-chord tones, arpeggios, modes, etc. you might want to look at the lesson I created for improvisation that can help that. Click the link in the video's description box if you want to know more.

User Info Menu

Welcome to the forum.

You're hitting the notes in the chords. Where you can improve is by understanding that melody is not only notes. It's a mix of notes and rhythm.

When you're practicing, take the first 4 bars and play something that is:

1. Satisfactory rhythmically, and
    2. Satisfactory harmonically.

You have to hit the right notes, but it also has to be interesting rhythmically.

If 4 bars is too much, then start with only the first 2 bars.

Make up a phrase by choosing a rhythm that is satisfactory and engaging and then putting the correct notes to it.

Now that you have a handle on how to make a proper phrase, continue through the rest of the form building with this approach.

User Info Menu