Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 161

User Info Menu

JGBE Virtual Jam (Round 32) - In a Mellow Tone-1629403422484-jpg

This week's tune courtesy of Triple_Jazz

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

This week's tune courtesy of Triple_Jazz
    Looks like he fooled us. Just as well, I thought he'd lost his mind :-)

User Info Menu

When I think of what jazz is or if someone asks me what it is I always think of two individuals; Duke and Monk. I think of the incredible swing and beautiful harmonic movements. I get caught up in the soul and funky stuff because I love Scofield and Charlie Hunter types, but it all comes back to the real nitty gritty swing.

I have a lot of trouble playing Duke and Monk songs because the feel is unnatural to me. I picked this one because I’ve been battling it for at least two years. I leave and then come back to it. I decided to come back to it this week. I did a few takes today and they are god awful so sorry for not putting something up on the first day. I’m going to shed this a bit then try and present something decent.

User Info Menu

This is a great choice. It's not as frequently heard as other Ellington tunes, but it is an important part of the Ellington canon. The changes are not especially hard, but they do punish inattention or carelessness.

There is a really nice track of Kenny Burrell playing this live:

User Info Menu

I think it's a brilliant tune for soloing

How to play outside without really trying :-)

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by lawson-stone;[URL="tel:1141294"
    1141294[/URL]]This is a great choice. It's not as frequently heard as other Ellington tunes, but it is an important part of the Ellington canon. The changes are not especially hard, but they do punish inattention or carelessness.

There is a really nice track of Kenny Burrell playing this live:

A favorite version for sure! Some other great ones are:

User Info Menu