The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Hi, I'm an amateur guitar player starting to learn jazz improv.
    I'd love some feedback on this recording.
    Also, it'd be great if someone can recommend me a study group for my level.

For those who couldn't open the file for some reason, I posted it here:
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by vitorlds; 05-25-2021 at 11:39 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by vitorlds

User Info Menu

File will not play for me.

User Info Menu

Or me.

User Info Menu

You've got a really good grasp of the form, and of what you can do with the chords. Your time is really good to and there's a strong feel with the beat. Nicely done!
    Your ideas do seem like a somewhat busy catalog of appropriate ideas, but not so strong on the thread that connects those ideas. It indicates a real desire you have to "fill in" the harmonic area with things that make up melody, but not so much of a command of what melody serves when telling a story; making ideas lead to one another and conveying a feeling of WHY you're soloing.
    Listen to the original tune. Notice the way the first phrase (which you do nicely to use as a springboard for your own solo) leads to the weight of space? This isn't just to save on ink and breath, it's "framing" the impact of the first phrase. When you make your flurry of notes at the ends of your phrases, they fit the form, but they detract from the clarity of the phrase.
    I don't want to tell you how to play notes, but you can try to develop your own personal lexicon, and note that sometimes fewer notes in the right place make a stronger statement. They set up development.
    Shorter phrases can help you make a stronger solo because they give you somewhere to go.