The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

I like the natural way he approaches simple soloing ideas. I used to do this for hours on end back in the day.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Thank You. Very nice approach. I would say the most natural, back to the beginnings - play what you sing ...

User Info Menu

It is true.
    I have been collecting jazz training materials for over 40 years and everyone writes about singing - this is very important.
    Jazz masters write : listen to CDs, copy solos, ear training etc, and recommend singing their favorite solos to know what to sing.

User Info Menu

Creating melodies with one chord and a major scale is not exactly playing over complex jazz changes.

User Info Menu

That's true. This is just the beginning of the adventure with jazz. An excellent basis for further work on jazz improvisation.

User Info Menu

Yes. But I perceive this lesson more as "the ability to listen and hear yourself and what you play". For example, with a metronome I can play melodies and themes that I like and sound good. But when I play with backintracks my skills drop by 50%. The problem probably lies in "hearing" myself and being able to hear what I play in real time.

User Info Menu

The best solution is to make recordings with backing tracks.Then you can really make progress.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by kris
    The best solution is to make recordings with backing tracks.Then you can really make progress.
    I haven't done this much yet, but my current thinking is that the following method might prove effective. I refer to Irealpro ($10 or so) and Reaper (free to evaluatae $60 to buy), but other apps will work. These just happen to be the ones I use.

Export an Irealpro backing track to Reaper. Easily done by exporting in MIDI format.