The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 46

User Info Menu

Hello Everyone,

A question......
    When leaning scales and arpeggios is it best to memorize the intervals or note names as your learning them.

Also, when you are soloing, what is going though your mind as your playing? Are you thinking of notes, intervals, scales? Are your fingers falling automatically from years of practicing scales. Or can you hear what you want to play in your head as your playing and knowing where place your fingers without thinking technically.

I know, many questions but me being new to this at 57 I want to make the most use of my practice time.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm far from an expert on this, but here what i think:

To improvise i have to have some knowledge of what notes to use. So if something is in Emajor, i know what notes to use.
    While practicing this, i learn or experience that in a lot of cases other notes are sounding good asswell. Not all the time, but on some chords.
    This is the moment i want to know why that is.

in my experience it's better to learn theorie of the things you practice and know sound good, then the other way around.

User Info Menu

I'm certainly more interested in the interval than the name of the note. Then if I like the sound of a 9th on a minor chord, I'll know where to find it wherever I am on the fretboard. But the quicker answer is that you should know both, and then do as Charlie Parker says: learn all that stuff, then forget it. Just play. - I'm paraphrasing, as I can't remember exactly what he said, but it's something close to that.

User Info Menu

I rarely think about the notes names. Sometimes. They meld into the fretboard. I SEE the harmonic shape of the song across the fretboard. So I don't think in terms of licks or memorized patterns. I hear it in my head and follow the harmonic shapes.

User Info Menu

All of the above.