The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Hello,

It may have been years since I have been here and I apologize for my absence. Life sometimes gets in the way...Been picking up the guitar again a lot since being in this pandemic. It has brought me back to my love for jazz music. It is hard for me, because I am no musical prodigy, and I have no theory in my background either. I just have my two ears and my only hope is that they are hearing the music better as the years go on. And my method is like this, I just try my best to play thru the changes on a whim and I don't know what is going to happen. I like it that way because it is always different and always fresh.....some stuff sounds pretty good and other stuff doesn't work but that is life I guess.

This is one that I have been playing to for a few months and I have my own way about jazz, my own style. I like a bunch of guitarists who play jazz but I think I am always best when I am me. I have tried to emulate, but that keeps me from feeling music my way and it becomes more mechanical.

So here it is, from tonight....it got interrupted towards the end so it got cut short, but I would like your feedback on my playing/style. I appreciate it and your time!

Brian

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Love this tune mate, check out my chord tone improv following those changes and let me know what you think, Im playing guitar again after 7 months without even touching it.... so same boat kinda here ;-)

User Info Menu

Thanks for opening this thread and for sharing your fine contributions. "All the Things You Are" remains one of my fave standards, and I especially enjoy weaving my way through the changes.

Like many others here, I've only just recently started playing out again, mostly small jam sessions, and I haven't done this tune yet so I dug out an older video clip, circa year 3 BC (Before Corona!).