The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Hi all. I'm a jazz guitar newbie so please excuse what seems to me like a basic question. I've never really learned a lot of licks before (in any of the genres I've played) and I want to start doing this (specifically for jazz). I was wondering if you have a way of collating and keeping track of licks? It's possible to get them from so many different sources, online and offline, and I would like to find a way to keep them all together, whether that's through a notebook where I write them down in music notation them or some electronic means (I've wondered if there might be an app or something but I haven't been able to find anything).

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Really? I never learned ANY licks. None. Ever.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I know that opinions are mixed as to the value of learning licks (and the best ways to learn and apply licks) but my question was not about whether to learn licks but how to collate them.

Quote Originally Posted by henryrobinett
    Really? I never learned ANY licks. None. Ever.

User Info Menu

Well obviously if I don’t learn them and have found no value in that side of playing jazz I’d not be interested in collating them.

Indeed.

Quote Originally Posted by henryrobinett
    Well obviously if I don’t learn them and have found no value in that side of playing jazz I’d not be interested in collating them.

User Info Menu

Many years ago I began to do this and found out quickly that it just turned me into a collector instead of a better player. If you can't keep track of them in your head, you can't use them. If you can't use them, they don't become part of your syntax.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by cosmic gumbo