The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

I started learning some vocabulary from books they I've had, mainly because it's fun, though I think that it's good practice on sight reading without tabs and that it also get some sounds into my ears. What I'm working with:

1. The supplement from the Aebersold ii/V/I book (once you get past the first several ones that are very formulaic, they actually get hip, some of them even show up in fragments in #2 below...)
    2. Jazz Guitar Lines of the Greats by Steve Briody
    3. Shortcut to Jazz by Bunky Green (very advanced stuff but a fun challenge)

The thing is, while I'm reading and translating each one to the fretboard, I'm paying attention to the notes, intervals, and sometimes also to the relation to the underlying chord progression. However, once I have them memorized, that goes out the window, I can't always easily say what notes I'm playing (unless its a part of the fretboard that I have memorized well). In most cases, though, I would say that I'm at least aware of what notes each one starts/ends on and how they relate to the chords.

So how much do you think I should get caught up on that? From my saxophone playing experience, I couldn't play a note without first consciously knowing what note I'm about to play...!

I've only done a bit of transcribing so far, but I think that the same question applies there just as much, maybe even more, since at least with reading I see what the notes are a few times until I've memorized them.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu