The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Posts 51 to 75 of 99

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rpjazzguitar
    Jazz guitar is the hardest thing I've ever tried to do. I've been at it for 56 years and I'm still learning about how difficult it is to do really well. I am confident that I can still hear something new and not realize how difficult it was for the player to accomplish.
    well of course I appreciate things that are difficult ...

but mostly I believe that artistic appriciation is based on different criteria.

The original idea is strange to me: they do not appriciate difficulty.
    I agree that jazz audience often do not really appriciate the performance just because they do not follow it... but it is not abou difficulty.

it is not the acrobats in the circus (where it is appropriate really) to appreciate difficulty.

I talked to young jazz guitarsit (already a teacher) - quite accomplished and I mentioned Bernstein and he said: Oh he plays really difficult things... it was so strange to me: Peter is a master and ginuine musician... he has his own touch and even I dare say - own language... but it is not really difficult what he plays.
    On the contrary it is quite easy...
    What Frisell and Sco do is also not diffuclt...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I wonder how many of the audience at the Half Note in this 1964 TV programme were listening to Lennie Tristano and his combo. Did they appreciate the difficulty and novelty of the music? They seem to be enjoying themselves, at least.
    Same thing happens on classical recitals... people have a year ticket for concerts, visit Philarmonic Hallsa, discuss speed and expressions of faces and gestures but then you put on music and they can't distinguish Mozart from Haydn (or even Schubert!) without seeing the name on CD

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jameslovestal