The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

Hi, i'm a beginner jazz guitarist and I want to know how jazz soloing works.

Should I use a global scale following the tonality of the song?

For example if I play autumn leaves in Gm should I improvise on the Gm scale all over the progression?

Or should I take the scales or arpegios of each chords of the progression?

I'm totally lost... Can someone help me with a global method to starter soloing in jazz?

Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I recommend the basic Barry Harris scale outline approach more than any other.

But it won't make sense unless explained in great detail. Volume I of the "Barry Harris Worksop" book covers it

We play to the 7th; up, down, up and down, down and up ("we don't play ii scales" we play major, minor and dominant scales)
    We play 1-5, 3-7, 5-7 and descending
    melodic 3rds up and down the scale
    chromatic approach to melodic 3rds
    melodic triads up and down the scale
    chromatic approach to melodic triads
    melodic 7th chords up and down the scale
    chromatic approach to melodic 7th chords
    5432 phrases (also 87b66 phrases)
    Barry Harris chromatic scale
    diminished scale
    whole tone scale

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Robinjazz

For example if I play autumn leaves in Gm should I improvise on the Gm scale all over the progression?

I'm totally lost... Can someone help me with a global method to starter soloing in jazz?
    Thanks
    If what you want was a valid approach, then all rock and blues players could play jazz. They can't, because it doesn't work.
    Last edited by cosmic gumbo; 04-19-2020 at 03:26 AM.

User Info Menu

I'm not sure to understand what you mean, i just wanted some help nothing more

User Info Menu

Hi Robinjazz,