The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

I picked up a couple of phrases/licks from a recorded guitar solo. Just a few bars, a few seconds, was enough to catch my attention. So I studied the licks; play, rewind, play rewind...you know the drill. In this case the tempo is fast, so I used the DAW to slow it down to capture the phrases note by note.

These are be-bop inspired lines. -Do you recognize them? Charlie Parker perhaps?
    (Key A minor)

These licks are fascinating, because I don't think the player performing the solo improvised these lines in the very moment. I bet they are rehearsed and memorized parts of his tool-box or maybe parts written or borrowed specifically for the recorded solo, overdubbing perhaps.

The reason I come to this conclusion, is that the licks are "non-guitaristic" (aka "horn like") and somewhat awkward from the perspective of the fretboard and convenient finger setting arrangements. Which makes them even more interesting. There are many different ways these licks can be fretted. When going for speed, the finger settings may turn out even more non-intuitive. The pitch and fretboard access in the high register is another parameter as well as distance between frets in the low register (when played an octave down or in another key).

-How would you approach these licks? Do you think in terms of arpeggios, scales or patterns? What finger settings come natural, most convenient, to you?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The question I would ask, I think, would be what processes would you use in working with an developing this material beyond just using them as licks?

I would adopt whatever analysis seems appropriate. Analysis itself is a creative act - the way I analyse something might not be the same as someone else.

Take the first phrase.