The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Posts 151 to 175 of 253

User Info Menu

Hey Christian... thanks for the kid things... they shaped my like and made many choices for me...yada yada

Anyway... take a tune, any tune, one you like. record yourself soloing ... take two 4 bar sections.... what you hear as the best and what you don't like, not wrong notes just doesn't sound that great.

Then voice those 4 bar solo phrases out with 5 part sax section... you could add a bass line.

I've been doing this for 40 years... really. The process really cleaned up my ears... not that I don't still play shit and screw everything up all the time... I really like being the edge of crash and burn, when I can.
    (I'm not implying your ears need cleaning) lol. Back in the 70's we were into that super sax thing... arranging existing solos...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pingu
    do you think it’s possible that
    different people need different
    learning methods ?

chordscales
    arps
    BH
    Joe Pass ‘ignore the 2 chord’
    someone else ‘ignore the V chord’
    Would that be Pat Martino? I get that for a major 2-5-1, but it doesn't work as well for me with a minor 2-5-1. Consider the original example, Em7b5 A7b9. If you think "Em7b5", you probably won't play a C# over the A7b9, and every time you do that, Barry Harris kills a puppy.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyLoveHandles
    Would that be Pat Martino? I get that for a major 2-5-1, but it doesn't work as well for me with a minor 2-5-1. Consider the original example, Em7b5 A7b9. If you think "Em7b5", you probably won't play a C# over the A7b9, and every time you do that, Barry Harris kills a puppy.
    It’s true. I’ve seen it happen.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Reg