The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

I am new to soloing over a modal type of song like this one and I am looking for feedback to improve on this. For this recording I transcribed a few phrases I liked, changed them up a bit, and tried to make them motifs. I also played around with triads and attempted to vary the rhythm. I'm trying to move away from thinking Dorian scale and more so melody lines to make the solo go somewhere. I attempted to use enclosures in practice but I am finding it hard to make enclosures flow naturally in a phrase.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There are obviously some good effects there if you want to use them. Which you should.

At that speed you won't play it the way it's supposed to go, your phrasing will be different. So you probably need to start playing it more up to speed, or a bit faster anyway to get the feel of the actual tune. It needs a bit more urgency.

You're not using scales enough, or at least lines of notes (rather than one effect after another). Listen to Miles or other players and you'll hear lines, not effects. You don't have to go mad like Coltrane, of course.

(You can use Dorian notes, basically, with passing notes thrown in - check out what sax and trumpet players are doing, not just guitar players).

Stringing effects together isn't really a cohesive solo, it sounds too deliberately put together.

What you need to do is remember your effects and then let go, forget them, and just launch into it. While you're soloing lines then you can pop in an effect or two in. But at the moment it sounds like all you've got is a patchwork of effects as it were.

So - play it faster, more like the real tune. You want some kind of meaningful lines plus the odd effect to keep the listener's ear interested.

Apart from that, pretty good, there's obviously a lot of musical sense in there.

Quote Originally Posted by ragman1