The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 166

User Info Menu

I've had an idea mulling in my head for a long time that I have decided to start putting a little time into. In almost any thread on this forum, or in almost any conversation among jazz players about improvisation, someone will state very strongly that "the melody" of the standard one is playing is vital to good improvisation. Then we usually debate whether that's true, the whole nine yards.

I've done a lot of different things to learn to improvise, but honestly I've never tried to use the melody of a tune as the basis for improvisation. Since my improvisation is not exactly an exemplary model of "how it's done" I think I need to try my hand at moving from playing the melody, to playing a greatly ornamented and elaborated melody, to spinning improvisational ideas off the melody. I've never done this before, and it just seems like one if those things that certainly will do me no harm, and probably would do a lot of good.

So I"m going to take "There Will Never Be Another You" as my start. I can play the melody easily enough, and I can comp for it, and can even do a chord-melody of the tune. But for me chord-melody becomes a crutch. So I want to focus on melodic invention using TWNBAY as my basis.

I hope to post a series of clips starting with simply trying to play the melody with a backing track, really nicely, with some ornamentation and such. Then I hope to move increasingly in an improvisational direction.

If by any chance you, kind reader, play this tune and can show me how you dress up the melody, use the melody for improvisation, etc. I'd love to see and hear you do it.