The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I have just received the Charlie Parker Omnibook Volume 1. Can someone suggest what would be a good tune to start with. I want to learn his phrasing and get ideas. NOTE: I am new to Jazz.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Can I suggest Yardbird Suite?

User Info Menu

This is just one suggestion, so take it with a big grain of salt.
    Start by listening to a lot. Give yourself maybe two weeks just listening to the Dial recordings, and the Savoy live recordings. Listen a lot to the point of immersion, until you're so infused with the music that you can feel it, understand the sway and push of his rhythmic breath, until you can anticipate what he'd be likely to do...and you'll still be surprised by his choices.
    I think you should listen until you feel how it'd be to be in the audience or listening to Symphony Sid. And somewhere in that experience you'll come across a performance that says to you "Oh Wow! That chorus of Now's the Time really jumps out!" and then be hungry when you open the page, before you use your eyes.

That's how it's useful to me. I just think those dots on the page might speak more clearly if the spirit of his sound has spoken to you first.

Just my two cents.
    David

Yea good advice and i will do just that...need to soak it up to feel it........am working on Ornithology in the mean time :-)

User Info Menu

I highly recommend transcribing by ear and using the omnibook to check your transcriptions and do analysis. Especially since you're interested in his phrasing. That's how I use my omnibook.
    Why not a blues?

User Info Menu

Parker's Mood

User Info Menu

I'd go anthropology

User Info Menu

Billie’s Bounce. That’s a blues in F.