The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 84 of 84
    I bought this book but have no idea how to "use" it - common problem with jazz books.
    Anyone here ever have any luck? What did you do with it, from page 1? Can anyone share an example or write-up of what "working through it" meant for them?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I worked with it from time to time, 1st thing I like is how Joe Pass makes the lines follow the chords with "positionnal playing"; 2nd things my ears like how it sounds and it influenced some of my own lines in a good way, the way Joe is using the alterations on dominant chords is great too, and he helped to work my reading skill (that I need to work cause I'm a typic bad reader guitarist but I improve since many years everyday so maybe one day I will be a solid reader).

Dive into it I'm sure it can help you in many ways but open your ears when you play (at first play the chords to internalize the harmony if you are not familiar with those chord changes).

(I don't use any backtrack cause I don't need but if you need it, backtrack the chords would not be a bad idea , at a slow tempo if you are a bad reader).

Quote Originally Posted by itsmyname
    Dive into it I'm sure it can help you in many ways but open your ears when you play (at first play the chords to internalize the harmony if you are not familiar with those chord changes).
    I think it might just be too advanced for me? IDK. I'm very used to playing real book standards. I can play my major/dominant/minor 7/9 chords each 2-3 places on the neck. I know where I need to flatten or raise the 5, I know where the 6 is, etc...