The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 91

User Info Menu

Anyone wanna discuss Pat Metheny style improvising? I played "bright size life" on a gig last weekend and realized that it's really hard to play in that style without resorting to altered dominant bop licks. On that whole album, he almost never uses any altered dominant or diminished scale language. It's very refreshing and surprisingly difficult to do.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Yeah, I'm no expert, but when I play Metheny's tunes like that, they're really almost more like folk songs than "jazz tunes." I actually tend to play really inside, and I try to be careful with chromaticism. They're tough!

User Info Menu

I wish I knew enough to be able to talk about Metheny's style. He's the guitarist I listen to and just put my guitar down and listen, realizing I can't even cop licks from this guy.

User Info Menu

Metheny certainly has a distinctive way of forming melodies while improvising whilst keeping to the changes. I really love his playing and Bright Size Life may actually be my favourite record by his.

I find his tunes hard to improvise over. Because a) you have to play the changes, even though they are folky/pop-like, and b) you really have to make melodies, otherwise you’ll just sound bad, really bad. I tried the bebop licks thing over his songs too and failed miserably.

However I’ve read tons of interviews with Metheny and he always hammers on the importance of bebop language and how important it is to learn to navigate changes like the bebop guys do. He even said the first thing he does when he hires a new guy for his group is play a bunch of bebop/standard tunes with them to check whether they understand the language.