The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

I am wondering if you guys have some good ways to practice arpegios (chord tones) . I am new to this chord tone arpeggio thing, but i know the basic stuff (play the different chord tones from the root), so i would like to get some advice from you on some practices i can do, so that i can use them in a musical setting! Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Start with 1 3 and 5 and go from there. Jordan Klemons has some really nice vids on YouTube.

Don’t practice arpeggios - practice chord tones. That means - keep it slow and pick a couple of notes per chord.

Thanks!!

User Info Menu

Are you voicing leading the arps as you play them thru changes of a tune. In other words not going back to the root when the chord changes, but going to the nearest chord tone in the direction you're going (ascending/descending.) That really helps not only get the arp lines more musical, but requires you really know your chord spellings.

Are you doing these just based on one position, not expand do them over a range of the neck. Decide on a lowest fret and a highest to work within let say 2nd fret to 12th fret. You keep ascending until you reach the 12th fret once there change direction and start descending and don't change direction until you hit the 2nd fret. This is good to use cycles of II-V's or similar changes. As you get better expand the fret range.

Time to make it even harder expand the arpeggios out to the 13th be they major, minor, or dominant chords. Okay time to get serious start using altered dominants like b9, #5, and etc. With the altered note nailing the nearest chord tones really requires some mental skills.

Get through that you will know your chord spellings and the neck of your guitar really well.

User Info Menu