The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

i've never used play alongs before

i've been using them a lot recently - donna lee first (for ages) then thriving from a riff - on the 'all bird' aebersold

i used to play with a world class alto player (when johnny griffin came to town and heard him he was very serious about how good the guy was) - we all just adored him - he was easy to love - but that has nothing to do with it

he used to say to me - after he started to count something in and i started moaning and squeeking behind him on the bandstand - no, its fine jon honestly - just play it slow - just give it a go - you'll be fine - you can already do it man. and i thought he was just crazy - i felt closer to being able to land a jet airplane or sing ave maria than i felt to being able to relax and play in the real cherokee time that was his home from home.

the problem - once you're at home at 200 say - is that you are too uptight to let yourself go. you want to control what you're doing - you want to be the one who is playing (!) - but you just have to collapse into it and have faith that the music will hold you up (like the backwards falling management trust exercise - yeuch).

it doesn't of course - at least not most of the time - but if you can play i love you happily at 200 then if you relax enough it will indeed support you at least some of the time.

you will find that things happen you never dreamt could. and the critical bit of this is that they happen - you don't do them.