Jazz Guitar
+ Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

Garrison Fewell old book

Hi mates.
    I've read Marc Sabatella good words about and old Jazz Improvisation book by Garrison Fewell in 1982.
    I have his two Berklee books about improvisation and I think they're absolutely great, but I want to know more about this first book.
    Any kind of information?
    I cannot find nothing in the net about it.

Thanks.

2. # ADS
    The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Bump ttt. I'd be interested in this as well. I know there's a player or two here that studied with GF. My suspicion is that this early "book" was a "handout" for his students that was later incorporated into his Berklee books. I hope I'm wrong and there's more material out there to be found from him.

Hey Guys,

I studied with Garrison back in the 90's. At the time I bought the book you're asking about. It's simply titled 'Jazz Improvisation'.

It's an actual book, not a handout. It's hand written in a style similar to the original real book font, and has a plastic comb binding. I think it's around 75 pages. I haven't looked at it in awhile.

It contains topics on guide tones, arpeggios, secondary dominants, bass lines, ii V I phrases. It also contains some written out solos over some standard tunes, both swing and latin. It's not exhaustive, but it is a very good book for intermediate players looking to get started with improvising. There is no tab whatsoever, it's all music notation.

I emailed Garrison about the book, and he mentioned that he still has a few copies left. If anyone is interested in purchasing one, just send him an email. I'm thinking of picking up another copy as mine is pretty worn out.

Good luck,
    Dana
    Last edited by Dana; 06-30-2015 at 10:46 AM.
    Check out my new book, Essential Skills for the Guitarist on Amazon.

I'll see him tonite. Let me ask him and see what he says about further access to it.
    David

Man, I am so happy to read that Garrison is still out there thriving.