The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

hello fellow jazzheads,

i realize this is a very open-ended question, but how does everyone here approach soloing over a vamp with modulating chords (i.e. Am7 - F#m7)?

when the F#m7 is approaching, do you visualize the fretboard shift from, say A dorian to F# dorian, do you anticipate the next few notes ahead, do you devise licks that go over the barline, etc.?

i'm still very new to jazz and have only begun to wrap my head around modal and chord/scale theory over the past year. i'm working as diligently as i can to become more competent at improvising over jazz standards.. not sure if the more modern exponents of "jazz fusion" are looked down upon here, but i'd like to eventually apply these concepts in a more greg howe/guthrie govan musical context.

very glad to be here. appreciate your insights!

kindly,
    peter

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Basic concept is that over Am7, A, C, E and G are going to sound good. Then F#-7, F#, A, C#, E are going to sound good. These are obviously the chord tones of the chords.

Around these 4 "good" notes there are 8 other notes ranging from "even better" to "terrible" depending on taste and usage. So the first, most general and most obvious thing is to play what you like over the chords. There are no wrong notes, only notes played wrong.

Having said that, the way to modulate efficiently is to ensure you hit the chord tones on the change. After the change, adjust your thinking to the tonality of the new chord. So if D(11th degree) was "nice" for you on A-7, you should change it to "less/more nice"(depending on taste) as you move to F#-7(D becomes b13th).