The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Hi my fellow jazz friends,

This is my first recording for 2015. I have not recorded anything in a while and have just been listening to Sonny Rollins and John Coltrane play Tenor Madness over and over again.

Now I don't take directly from them, I want to play my own expression and sound good doing it.

I woke up today after not playing a guitar since Tuesday. The first thing I did was sit down and record this 7 minute track. I would like you to listen and let me know what you think of my playing. I am pretty new with jazz stuff at this point but I really feel it is becoming my home.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by guitarvegas
    Now I don't take directly from them, I want to play my own expression and sound good doing it.
    Why not, even if you transcribed and learned their solos note for note it's still going to come out as you!

User Info Menu

you've got to get the language down, the feel, the phrasing. You can only get that down from copying others.

User Info Menu

check out Emily Remler's Swing and Bebop guitar video on youtube. It has a good lesson on Bb blues and how to effectively solo on it. She also stresses the importance of good time and rhythm which is something we all need work on.

but I know I have just recently heard Sonny Rollins describe playing and improvising on jazz in this way as he quoted..."Don't try to play the music, instead let the music play you". In other words, after you have practiced and rehearsed all of your theory homework you just throw it out the window when it comes time to get on stage and make the music come to life.

Quote Originally Posted by steves3972