The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 59

User Info Menu

Hello!

i'm a beginner in jazz improvisation, so i would like to ask you, what do you think while improvising?

I mean, every jazz guy tells you that you are lost in music, when you are in trance while improvising ( when done right ) and i think its very hard to get to your free expression when you think all the time "ok, two counts than comes g7, ok 4 counts f#9, ok next is.. Oh, i forgot..., etc "

do you know what i mean? Its hard to describe

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Do you have to think about writing your name? How to drive home from work?

A chord progression can be like that...if practiced enough...

Once you learn 50 jazz tunes or so, you realize there's two things in a whole bunch of good tunes--a bunch of stuff ypu're familar with and a curveball--something different and cool.

The familar stuff becomes writing your name...then you watch out for the curveballs.

The only way there is practice. Im 10 years all in and im first starting to see it!

User Info Menu

Think in chunks. The most basic chunks are ii-V, ii-V-I, and I-vi-ii-V. Start with songs that are on the simpler side. (This does not mean simplistic. They're great songs, true standards, just less daunting for novices than many others are.) "Summertime," "Satin Doll," "Song For My Father," "Watermelon Man," the blues in F and Bb. Come to think of it, all those tunes are on Jamey Aebersold's "Maiden Voyage" play-along, volume 54.

http://www.amazon.com/Maiden-Voyage-...yage+volume+54

There's information in that book about scales and chords, but the main thing is to start playing music, finding your way, getting used to playing in time with jazz musicians.

User Info Menu