The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

hi everyone,
    having enjoyed this guitar forum (though i'm a pianist) as a guest for some time, i registered yesterday, and did my 1st post in the *blue bossa & melodic scales* thread. as i had the feeling that one got a bit of an informational *overkill* ;-) i frankly decided to open a new thread to share some concepts i've been working on for long.

note: the slashes + backslashes indicate the up + down movement of the line.

maj9-arpeggio: Cmaj9 = C/E/G/B/D (or 1/3/5/^7/9). in this concept i think of B (^7) and D (9) as the diatonic approach notes of C (1). the main arpeggio sequence is: C/E/G/B/D\B/ C (or 1/3/5/^7/9\^7/ 1). by repeating this sequence you can ascend through the octaves. you can start this series of notes at any spot: E/G/B/D\B/C/E~ or G/B/D\B/C/E/G~ or
    B/D\B/C/E/G/B~ etc.

of course, this pattern will work on a Cmaj7 chord. but this exact series of notes could be used for an Am7 chord as well, now creating a b3/5/b7/9/11 arpeggio, the 9 and 11 approaching the b3: b3/5/b7/11\9/ b3.

i'm going to use these ascending arpeggio sequences in II V I progressions for the II and I chords. in the key of C : the Fmaj9-arpeggio sequence on Dm7, the Cmaj9-arpeggio sequence on Cmaj7.

for the V chord i'm using what i call the *altered 6-note scale*, descending: 1\b7\b13\3\#9\b9\ 1. for a G7alt chord this is G\F\Eb\B\Bb\Ab\ G. the reason why i skipped the #11 from the common altered scale is that with 6 notes i will always land on my feet when resolving this scale to the I chord.

in licks # 1 thru 3 of the attached pdf file, the initial arpeggio sequence is starting from 3 different spots, thereby entering the altered 6-note scale at again 3 different spots, and resolving in 3 different spots of the final
    arpeggio sequence.