The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 24 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Posts 76 to 100 of 597

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by princeplanet
    Hear ya, let's take it up again in a bar sometime, where I can tell you what I really think about Josef Pieper
    If you think Oscar Wilde understood human nature better than Josef Pieper, I wouldn't bother to listen.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think how you learned has an impact on what our preferences are. When I studied with Harry Leahey, he always wanted to be able to play any line or phrase on any string starting with any finger.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by MarkRhodes
    If you think Oscar Wilde understood human nature better than Josef Pieper, I wouldn't bother to listen.
    Well then you won't bother to read these fun quotes from O.W -

I can stand brute force, but brute reason is quite unbearable. There is something unfair about its use. It is hitting below the intellect.

Society exists only as a mental concept; in the real world there are only individuals.

In America the President reigns for four years, and Journalism governs forever and ever.

The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.

It is what you read when you don't have to that determines what you will be when you can't help it.

Pessimist: One who, when he has the choice of two evils, chooses both.

In America the young are always ready to give to those who are older than themselves the full benefits of their inexperience.

Man is a rational animal who always loses his temper when he is called upon to act in accordance with the dictates of reason.

The critic has to educate the public; the artist has to educate the critic.

Arguments are to be avoided: they are always vulgar and often convincing.

If one plays good music, people don't listen and if one plays bad music people don't talk.