The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey folks,

Temporarily retired jazz guitarist here. I had two kids recently (30 and 6 months) and have been on 'sabbatical' from practicing. I checked out the HR super chops study group the other day and started the program in hopes of inspiring me to get back into the shed. I dig it, but it's very easy so far. (I studied with Gary Dial, Mike Stern, Wayne Krantz, Sean Jones, jazz degree, did the HaRRIS workshops, blah blah blah) I started a separate thread because this is a fairly specific question for folks who are either advanced and familiar with the program, or who have gone through the program successfully at least once.

It's a great concept, I love the PDF and the study group. I'm immediately curious how I can address some of my own deficiencies in technique, but that means twisting the program a bit (because sight-improvising 8th notes at 60bpm is something I did 15 years ago in jazz school). For example, after playing through the progression 3 x (10 minutes) I play through it a forth time playing double time over the changes. I have always struggled with uptempo (200+) double time, so I am hoping this will help me work through some of that technique. I also recognize in my own playing (and mentors have mentioned) that I rely too heavily on triplet phrases, so I may change the program when I get to that portion as well.

I'm wondering what are some additional challenges I can apply to myself to stay interested in the first 6 weeks? The biggest struggle for me right now is to not space out, and try to pick a different set of limitations for each chorus. IE first chorus is just free swung 8ths, playing the changes, 2nd chorus is playing a lot of octave displacement, 3rd chorus is a a bunch of Banacos/Harris embellishments, 4th chorus is double time.