The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

So I've been playing guitar on and off for 14 years but last fall I decided to up my game and really dig in, practice 2-5 hours a day. This is the way I've structured it.

1. Technique i.e. scales, picking, arpeggios etc.
    2. Chords. Checking out Ted Greene, moving around voicings, comping
    3. Playing changes, improvising, licks and patterns
    4. Rhythm. Working with the Syncopation for the modern drummer right now, odd accents over 4
    5. transcription, learning it in different positions.

Even though it's a lot and i usually don't do everything every day and i feel like I'm kinda all over the place. While I have noticed that my technique and ability to solo have improved, I'm wondering what I could improve. Also, what's your practice plan I'd love to see it.

Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by peterstephan7
    So I've been playing guitar on and off for 14 years but last fall I decided to up my game and really dig in, practice 2-5 hours a day. This is the way I've structured it.

4. Rhythm. Working with the Syncopation for the modern drummer right now, odd accents over 4

Even though it's a lot and i usually don't do everything every day and i feel like I'm kinda all over the place. While I have noticed that my technique and ability to solo have improved, I'm wondering what I could improve. Also, what's your practice plan I'd love to see it.

Thanks
    Learn some (many) tunes.

User Info Menu

I work from home so I do 10-15 minute music breaks. I warm up with scales in the morning, play tunes/noodle to relieve stress during the day, and in the evening I work on reading.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by peterstephan7
    I find that instead of compartmentalizing concepts into different practice areas, combining them into one practice as much as possible works better for me.