The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi everyone! Please, I need your advices and explanations about which right hand finger must be used when practicing chord melody with pick. I am new to jazz guitar, I come from acoustic finger picking (mainly country blues). I learnt finger picking with the great Stefan Grossman: about the right hand, he explained that in country blues there are no rules, he used thumb, index, middle finger and 2-3 times a year his ring finger! But in country blues you did not imply picks...When I approached my first standard, Autumn leaves, doing chords between melody lines with pick, I used thumb on D string, index on G and middle finger on B. I use thumb to have more sustain D bass string. Thank you in advance for your help!
    Stefano

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by 59nebula
    Hi everyone! Please, I need your advices and explanations about which right hand finger must be used when practicing chord melody with pick. I am new to jazz guitar, I come from acoustic finger picking (mainly country blues). I learnt finger picking with the great Stefan Grossman: about the right hand, he explained that in country blues there are no rules, he used thumb, index, middle finger and 2-3 times a year his ring finger! But in country blues you did not imply picks...When I approached my first standard, Autumn leaves, doing chords between melody lines with pick, I used thumb on D string, index on G and middle finger on B. I use thumb to have more sustain D bass string. Thank you in advance for your help!
    Stefano
    So are you using a pick? Then there would be no thumb. I hold pick as usual between thumb and index fingers and then use that in conjunction with middle ring and rarely pinky, I need to use pinky more. This is called "hybrid picking" . I have read on this forum of an instructional book dedicated to hybrid picking. In the end whatever works.