The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 49 of 49

User Info Menu

Andy Brown gets a good sound playing finger-style. Sounds to me as if he uses a little bit of nail possibly.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

" I studied classical guitar with Ghiglia, LaGoya and Williams, and always used nails." ronjazz

For those who may not be aware, only the cream of the crop of CG students studies with the above performers/teachers. You ,usually, have to be highly recommended by a notable teacher and perform before being accepted. Quite impressive, Ron! I met Oscar several times at the Chicago Classical Guitar concerts held at Northwestern University in Evanston,Il where he performed regularly over the years during their Winter concert series. He was friends with Richard Brune, luthier, who built my guitar and did repair work for many of the performing greats. If you know Richard, he just moved his shop from Evanston to Wauconda, Il. Richard was also a devotee of Flamenco Guitar and quite a historical scholar for the Classical Guitar. Can I ask what CG you're playing now? It's a smaller world than many think.
    Play live . . . Marinero

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by grahambop
    Andy Brown gets a good sound playing finger-style. Sounds to me as if he uses a little bit of nail possibly.

Wow! Great post, G! Thanks. Andy is the real deal: great sound, beautiful phrasing, excellent nuance. Are you certain he plays exclusively with his nails? I'm sorry I missed him before I left Chicago. As a brief comment, if you choose to play EG with your nails, they must be a shortened version of what is used in CG since, as DocSteve mentions, the angle of attack is completely different. I think the best compromise for a hybrid player is 1.) use a pick, or 2.) buy an electrified CG unless you're willing to spend a lot of time "perfecting" your sound where clarity, depth, and cleanness is the goal.