The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Someone here (Hi, Royce!) gave me this book a few years ago. I worked in it some and put it aside. I'm working in it again, getting much further into it, and enjoying it.

One of the things I like best is that the patterns are not described and places where you might use them are not suggested. Some are obvious (13654543; 32434531) while others are not. Some go on and on (usually moving in half- or whole-steps) and suddenly change. The time signatures may change too. Good stuff.

Oliver Nelson's "Patterns for Jazz Improvisation"-51gfgid5sml-_sx398_bo1-204-203-200_-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by MarkRhodes

One of the things I like best is that the patterns are not described and places where you might use them are not suggested.

Well... he does say most of the patterns won't work over the bridge for Cherokee.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by FwLineberry
    Well... he does say most of the patterns won't work over the bridge for Cherokee.

And that was always the first thing I would try, so he did save me some time there. ;o)

User Info Menu

This is an “instrumental facility” book. That’s cool but it’s not guitar specific, which is ok and not so ok. Playing a cell, fragment or arpeggio and then moving it up or down chromatically may be a challenge on some instruments, but not ours.

There is no question that you will train your fingers with this book. But there are a few important things to consider.

1. There is no analysis, so the player doesn’t know why they are playing what they’re playing.

2. If the objective is to learn and build jazz vocabulary, it really needs to be harmonically specific and there needs to be an understanding of what one is doing with that harmony, and to go slow as they learn it.