The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

I’ve been playing jazz guitar for 40+ years (sometimes professionally) and have never NEVER felt fully comfortable with a standard flat pick; I was always adjusting my angle, switching from Benson-picking to some other method; studying videos of super-pickers, etc etc. I mean I can play... but never felt that I conquered picking with a pick.

So about a year ago I switched to thumb pick and, except for “falling off the wagon” a few times, I’ve stuck with it. There are some challenges with it playing single note runs: I have to adjust the angle and rotation of the pick and support it with index or ring finger to get a comfortable feel when playing bebop type runs, but, since I was uncomfortable with flat pick anyway, it was not a showstopper. Plus there are clear advantages: you can rip into good fast runs using thumbpick and index or middle fingers a la Nashville players, and you can play classical or bossa nova style (or Chet Atkins style) at will. You can comp like a pianist. Perhaps the biggest challenge is playing funky rhythm which is easier with a flat pick.

So —- anyone else out there experiment with thumb pick for jazz?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Lennie Breau comes to mind, but I can't recall anybody else in jazz with a thumbpick.

Quote Originally Posted by ronjazz
    Lennie Breau comes to mind, but I can't recall anybody else in jazz with a thumbpick.
    Right, but there are quite a few fingerpickers.

User Info Menu

Ron Eschete uses a thumbpick. He gave me one of his custom made thumbpicks.

Dan

User Info Menu

I think Ron uses a Strum'N'Comfort pick. It wraps around the thumb and is secured with velcro. (It doesn't bind like thumbpicks can.) You can change picks, so don't think you'd have to buy a new gizmo whenever a pick wore out.

There are a few varieties of these. I'm not sure which one Ron is using now.