The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10
    Louiss97 Guest
    I have been playing for about a year so I'm a pretty new beginner. Basically want to know if anyone has any advice re how to exercise a permanently deformed finger.

I broke the pinky finger on my left hand as a little kid and it healed improperly; now the knuckle of my finger is always bent upwards and I can't lay it flat; basically my finger is always curved. This makes it really painful to play certain chords. I have tried playing through the pain and that strengthed the finger a bit but I've kinda reached a point where I see no more change and if I play for too long (over an hour or so) the finger and left side of my hand will cramp up and become immobile for the rest of the day which is super not chill. Any sort of advice? Are there exercises I could do? Should I just try to adapt chords so I don't use my pinky as much?

Thanks!!
    Last edited by Louiss97; 04-12-2021 at 04:33 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's possible to play without using your pinkie at all. Django only had two working fingers, although he could sometimes use one of the deformed ones to briefly fret a note. Three notes is enough much of the time, and it's also possible to use the thumb over the top of the neck. Fretting multiple strings with one finger is common. I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV, so I have no recommendations for exercises for your finger.

User Info Menu

Yeah. You just need to use what you have. Play the best you can within any physical limitations. Don’t worry about it and play.

User Info Menu

All the above. Plus...avoid pain. Don't over-do it. More often than not this can lead to debilitation and a need to not play for an extended period to heal. Tendonitis is a bitch.