The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 35

User Info Menu

I am studying with a new teacher. He advocates keeping four finger on four frets and occasionally stretching a finger to get the out of reach notes. For example, stretching the index finger to play F (on the top string), middle finger on G and stretching the little finger up to the A.

This is opposed to what I’ve always practiced, which is to shift position. See Segovia diatonic scales, for example.

Thoughts?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Do what is most comfortable for you. Obviously, you should at least try his recommendations. That's what you're paying for. However, if the teacher insists that you have to do something his way and you don't like it find another teacher. There's no one and only one way to do anything.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Bach5G
    I am studying with a new teacher. He advocates keeping four finger on four frets and occasionally stretching a finger to get the out of reach notes. For example, stretching the index finger to play F (on the top string), middle finger on G and stretching the little finger up to the A.

This is opposed to what I’ve always practiced, which is to shift position. See Segovia diatonic scales, for example.

Thoughts?
    Different great players do this different ways.

I think it's a more complicated question than it might seem initially.

For one thing, it is possible to shift just a little to make the stretches easier. Position changes can be made surprisingly rapidly. Segovia scales prove it.

Another thing is that how you finger a passage can change based on a need to accommodate the picking, especially for an alternate picker. '

Sometimes position shifts are impossible to avoid to play something up to speed. So, you might as well get good at it.

User Info Menu