The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27
    Dear fellows,

I recently started studying some different chords, trying to go a bit beyond the power chords and the pentatonic scale.

Usually, I do listen to people complaining about pain in the picking hand or the fingers of the fretboard hand due to significant stretches.
    It isn’t my case, at least not yet.

However, I do feel strong pain in my fretboard hand’s thumb.

I am attaching a picture of how I have my thumb in the neck most of the time while playing.

Do you guys have some advice?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers,
    Ivo
    Thumb pain while playing chords-img_3622-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

1) 2) You might want to check out the way classical guitarists position their fretting hands. Guitar neck at 45 degrees from horizontal, thumb behind the neck, thumb tip bearing the force and supplying the pivot point behind the neck. There are variations on this, but this is the basic default position. Best of luck!

User Info Menu

There is a type of tendinitis guitarists are prone to related to chording. Bear with me.

Hold your hands in front of you like you are carrying a large box and your fingers are pointing straight forward and your palms face the ceiling. That should be very comfortable. Now keep your arms in that same position but flex your wrist maximally so your thumb and finger point to the ceiling and your palms face your body. That can bring out the pain of tendinitis at the base of your thumb.

The combination of flexing your wrist like that and opening up the distance between your thumb and index finger does stress that tendon. The worst position for those with this tendinitis is to keep your thumb centered on the back of the neck, to have the neck low, like in front of your heart instead of your throat, and to have a thick neck on your guitar.