The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Try as I might, I just can’t get along with a pick. Finger style seems to allow me much more nuance and complexity but at the expense of the tone I’m able to achieve with a pick. I’m a pianist, first, so utilizing each finger comes naturally. However, I play with a light touch and can’t seem to dial in that fat tone I’m searching for. I’ve tried going down to lighter strings but that neuters the sound. I use a CV Tele and a modified Epi ES-175, primarily, through a Katana 100w or direct into an RME UC running into Cubase/Amplitube. Should I add in some compression or tweak the amp a different way? I tend to run the Katana flat with a small dose of verb. I’m shooting for a Ted Greene type of sound.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Up till now I have usually used a pick, but now I am also practising solo guitar a lot, for this I am using fingerstyle. I have found that I can get a reasonable sound if I use a combination of flesh and short nails on my right hand. Which is quite similar to the approach I have always used for classical guitar.

If I use the flesh only it sounds a bit muddy to me and also I lose a bit of picking precision. Having said that, I just googled ‘ted Greene right hand’ (as I don’t know much about his approach) and found a reference on the Ted Greene forum where someone said he played with the flesh only. So I think you just have to experiment and see what works for you.

Re. strings, I use .012 strings, I don’t like the tone with anything lighter than that, but again everyone will have their own preference.

I should add, I am not a great believer that you can fix these things at the amp. I believe the tone has to be right at the point you pluck the string. But again, that’s just me!

User Info Menu