The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Hi Everybody!!!!

I know that this could be a silly question but as a beginner I was wondering about what is the best way to play double-stops (diads) with the pick?. In this moment I'm re-studying the Jody Fisher's method "Mastering Chord- Melody" and I found some exercises that require to play double-stops. What kind of pick movement should I use to play these exercises?

A) Down Strokes and Up strokes
    B) Only Down strokes
    C) Hybrid picking (Pick with midlle finger)

This is an example of one of the exercises that I'm practicing. How to play Double-stops (Diads) with a pick??????-1-jpg

I'll appreciate your help.
    Last edited by cachalote; 05-21-2019 at 11:52 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I guess I'd use hybrid (pick and middle finger) for that but I'm just so used to it that it comes naturally to me without any consideration if that's the right way.

User Info Menu

I use any of those variants as I wish at any moment. There is no best, they are all good, you make the choice based on what you like or more comfortable for a situation.

In your example, assuming you strum the chords, I'd downpick all of it.

User Info Menu

I would probably down pick it, but I would suggest practicing down pick and hybrid

User Info Menu

The score for the exercise is without marks that would indicate how to play (no ties, no accents, etc.) for a reason - for you to explore.

Some double stops are played in synchrony, others with a deliberate "double plink", others staggering and overlapping the second note slightly, etc... to get the sounds of Funk, Latin, Country, etc...

Experiment with techniques to play double stops in as many ways and musical styles as possible so that when reading a song score with marks indicating how they are intended to sound, you'll be familiar with that style's specific sounds and the method(s) to achieve them.