The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner in jazz improvisation but have been playing bossa nova for a while. I'm currently working on Sheryl Bailey's Bebop Dojo mainly to learn comping an improv.

I current use a nylon string guitar since it's my sole guitar for bossa nova and jazz.

When it comes to shell voicings, would it be better to strum them downwards with the fingernails or pluck them with my thumb and 1st/2nd finger?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Since either would give you different effects and sonic options, why not use both? Personally, any time I'm given two options for doing something, I look for the third too. The more diverse your toolset is, the more you can make your solo a personal statement. Being comfortable with different approaches gives you what you need to bring more colours to the canvas of your playing.
    Why not?

David

User Info Menu

As above. Strums are more staccato and much heavier on rhythm, plucking gives more options. Hitting individual notes is easier with the fingers. Obviously bossa would be more effective with the fingers.

And so on. It depends a lot on the tune and what effect you want to produce. And there's the option of using both in the same tune for variety.

Whether you use your thumb or nails for a strum is also up to you. Nails are crisper but a far more brittle sound. Rhythmic upstrokes are harder using the nails. Again it's not either/or, nor is there a standard way of doing it. Experiment is my advice!

Yeah. Every instrument is different, and you adjust what you do technically to the sound and playability factors of the specific instrument.